Auburn University

Chartered as a private liberal-arts college in 1856 as East Alabama Male College, the school evolved through several iterations – including becoming a public land-grant university in 1872 – and in 1960 settled on “Auburn University.” The athletic teams are the Tigers. The three-time (1913, 1957 & 2010) championship-winning football team plays at Jordan-Hare Stadium, which opened in 1939. The basketball teams play at Auburn Arena, which opened in 2010.